top of page

It's time to Advance


 

Most often, around this time of the year, we receive many graduation invitations and we are more than excited to go celebrate our friends, siblings or relatives on their accomplishments.

The history of graduation dates as far back as the 12th century, originating in Europe. Ceremonies were held and students were graduated as a symbol of having completed one step, and granted the permission to move on to the other.

People were invited to these ceremonies to be witnesses of the transition that occurred. The term "graduate" originates from the Latin word "gradus" which means "step".

Life has numerous of stages to it and one ought to advance through each stage. There must be a graduation after each stage of life, and one has to steadily advance one step after the other.

A normally born baby does not stay a baby forever. As time goes on, he or she begins to talk, crawl, walk and grow up steadily. Likewise as Christians, we have to grow in our faith. We cannot afford to remain as "baby" Christians forever.

When we compare the state we were in when we initially met Christ, to the stage we currently find ourselves, we must be able to easily realize advancement. People around us must be able to testify about their witness to our growth. If this cannot be achieved, then there is a problem.

Paul utterly complained against the Corinthians in his letter to them: "Brothers and sisters, when I was there, I could not talk to you the way I talk to people who are led by the Spirit. I had to talk to you like ordinary people of the world. You were like babies in Christ. And the teaching I gave you was like milk, not solid food. I did this because you were not ready for solid food. And even now you are not ready." 1 Corinthians 3:1‭-‬2.

He did not witness any advancement in their Christian faith and thus had nothing to testify about. Upon reading this, we should realize that it becomes problematic if we do not graduate through our Christian life.

We must constantly seek to improve upon our faith and ultimately become more and more Christ-like. It is only then that we'd be able to beat on our chest and boldly acclaim our advancing walk with Christ.

DECLARATION Heavenly Father I thank You for Your Word today. I pray that you help me to advance in every aspect of my life, especially in my walk with you. Let those around me witness my growth in you, in Jesus' Name. Amen! Reference Scriptures: 1 Corinthians 3, Luke 2:40, Luke 2:52.


bottom of page