top of page

Finishing the race

However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace. Acts 20:23 As the saying goes its not about how you start the race but how you finish it. The story of the tortoise and the hare is a prime example of the importance of finishing the task ahead of us. The hare started out at full speed but his pride and inconsistency caused him to lose the race. Many at times as Christians, we are like the hare. Once we are saved or born again, there is this sense of motivation and fire to do the work of God. We are involved in all church activities, studying daily, witnessing and giving back to our communities. We want to be perfect in the sight of God. And that is a beautiful sight. But as time goes on we begin to relax and become comfortable. Thats where the problem lies. The apostle Paul continued to stress the importance of finishing the race and looking ahead to the prize we will receive one day. He knew as humans we would fall short occasionally, but it is up to us to look toward the goal and pick ourselves back up. It is up to us to continue to fight the good fight until we are called. We cannot get weary and say, "Oh I did this for a while and now I'm tired." Or because of someone I've stopped what I used to do for God. Hellooo are you serving man or God? I know the answer to that question is God. So with that said our goal is to make it to heaven. That is the ultimate prize.

In a race, those who finish well, win the best prizes. Those who start well and finish last get nothing. Let us all do well to finish strong in serving our Maker, and we will receive the crown of glory on that judgement day. Prayer Thank You God for giving me another day to work towards the goal(Heaven). Holy Spirit help me when I get weary that I may not stumble. In Jesus's Name. Amen!

Reference Scriptures: Acts 20:23, Philippians 3:14-15.


bottom of page